Profile

International.

Freie Universität Berlin was founded in 1948 with significant support from the United States. Our School, as one of the founding departments, views its academic mission within this tradition. Over the years, through a sense of history and by conviction, our School has worked closely with international organizations and businesses in economics, science, and society. Scholars from renowned national and international universities visit our School for presentations, seminars, guest teaching positions, or guest professorships. Since the foundation of the Deutsche Bundesbank Foundation endowed chair for international monetary policy in 1987, this position has regularly been held by internationally renowned economists. Many programs, including the German Research Foundation (DFG) sponsored doctoral program “Research on Organizational Paths” (Pfadkolleg) regularly lead national and international guest scientists to our School.

 

Interdisciplinary.

We are convinced that exchange and regular contact between our School and other disciplines and fields is extremely fruitful for teaching and research. So on the one hand, our School networks strongly with other departments and schools within the Freie Universität. We cooperate with the economic departments of the John-F.-Kennedy Institute for North American Studies, the Institute for Latin American Studies, and the Institute for East-European Studies, the Otto-Suhr Institute for Political Science, and the departments of law and the Earth sciences. The courses of these departments at our School are integral components of our teaching program. On the other hand, we also cooperate closely with research institutions outside of the university, such as the Wissenschaftszentrum für Sozialforschung (Social Science Research Center), various Max-Planck- and Leibniz Institutes, and the Deutsche Institut für Wirschaftsforschung (German Institute for Economic Research).

 

Strong in research.

Freie Universität has a long tradition in international research. With regards to externally financed research, the School of Business & Economics has distinguished itself with an extremely high number of projects that have been financially supported by the German Research Foundation (DFG), the most renowned German research sponsor. As a rule, outstanding dissertations result from these projects. Research centers such as the Pfadkolleg doctoral program “Research on Organizational Paths” funded by the DFG (www.pfadkolleg.de), and located within the Department of Business Administration, has developed into a discussion forum in international research because of its interdisciplinary and international orientation.

 

In step with actual practice.

Thanks to its outstanding results in research and teaching, our School stands at the interface of science, politics, economics and society. Various continuing lecture series, discussion forums, and conferences lead business executives, managers and decision-makers from the business world to our School. The Dahlem Lectures on FACTS, a cooperative lecture program of the Department of Banking and Finance and the Department of Auditing and Business Taxation, the Management Showcase and the Network Forum at the Management Department, the continuing education program Executive Master of Business Marketing, with which the Marketing Department offers a two-semester on-the-job continuing education course in management – these are only some of our programs in which science, economics and society meet each other in an exciting exchange.

 

Interactive.

Students and Students and teachers at Freie Universität Berlin’s School of Business & Economics use the web-based Blackboard Learning System. Here, teachers can deposit teaching material and information for their courses, thus granting students access to necessary information at any time. Blackboard is also a discussion forum for academic exchange between students and teachers. Since its introduction in the summer of 2004, 16,400 students throughout Freie Universität have used Blackboard. In our School, the Learning System is implemented in 30 – 40 percent of all the courses.

 

Registration for modules, courses, and examinations was simplified for students through Campus Management. Campus Management is an SAP-supported service and communication technology that as yet is only available at Freie Universität Berlin.It was deployed in connection with the Bologna Process.

Profil

International.

Die Freie Universität Berlin ist 1948 mit der maßgeblichen Unterstützung der Vereinigten Staaten gegründet worden. Unser Fachbereich, als eine der Gründungsfakultäten, sieht sich in seinem wissenschaftlichen Selbstverständnis in dieser Tradition. Der Geschichte verpflichtet und aus Überzeugung hat sich unser Fachbereich im Laufe der Zeit eng mit internationalen Organisationen und Unternehmen in Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft verbunden. Wissenschaftler renommierter Universitäten im In- und Ausland halten sich für Vorträge, Seminare oder Gastdozenturen/-professuren an unserem Fachbereich auf. Seit der Gründung der Stiftungsprofessur der Deutschen Bundesbank für Internationale Geldpolitik im Jahre 1987 wird diese Position regelmäßig von international renommierten Wissenschaftlern besetzt. Zahlreiche Veranstaltungen - etwa von dem durch die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft  (DFG) geförderten Graduiertenkolleg „Pfade organisatorischer Prozesse“ (Pfadkolleg) - führen regelmäßig Gastwissenschaftler aus dem In- und Ausland an unseren Fachbereich. 

 

Interdisziplinär.

Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass der Austausch und rege Kontakt zwischen unserem Fachbereich und anderen Disziplinen und Arbeitsgebieten für Lehre und Forschung außerordentlich fruchtbar ist. So ist unser Fachbereich auf der einen Seite innerhalb der Freien Universität mit anderen Instituten und Fachbereichen stark vernetzt. Wir kooperieren etwa mit den Abteilungen Wirtschaft des John-F.-Kennedy-Instituts für Nordamerikastudien, des Lateinamerikainstituts, des Osteuropa-Instituts, dem Otto-Suhr-Institut für Politikwissenschaft sowie den Fachbereichen Rechtswissenschaft und Geowissenschaften. Veranstaltungen dieser Institute an unserem Fachbereich sind fester Bestandteil unseres Lehrprogramms.
Andererseits bestehen enge Kooperationen zu außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtungen wie dem Wissenschaftszentrum für Sozialforschung (WZB), verschiedenen Max-Planck- und Leibniz-Instituten sowie dem Deutschen Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung (DIW).

 

Forschungsstark.

Die Freie Universität hat eine lange Tradition in der internationalen Forschung. Bei der durch Drittmittel finanzierten Forschung zeichnet sich der Fachbereich Wirtschaftswissenschaft durch einen extrem hohen Anteil von Projekten aus, die durch die DFG, den renommiertesten deutschen Forschungsförderer, finanziell unterstützt werden. Aus diesen Projekten entstehen in der Regel herausragende Dissertationen. Forschungszentren wie das von der DFG geförderte Graduiertenkolleg „Pfade organisatorischer Prozesse“, angesiedelt bei der Betriebswirtschaftslehre, haben sich aufgrund ihrer interdisziplinären und internationalen Ausrichtung zu Diskussionsforen in der internationalen Forschung entwickelt.

 

Praxisnah.

Unser Fachbereich steht dank seiner ausgezeichneten Ergebnisse in Forschung und Lehre an der Schnittstelle zwischen Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft. Regelmäßige Vortragsreihen, Diskussionsforen und Tagungen führen Vorstände, Geschäftsführer und Entscheider aus der Praxis an unseren Fachbereich. Die Dahlem Lectures on FACTS, eine gemeinsame Vortragsveranstaltung des Instituts für Bank- und Finanzwirtschaft und des Instituts für betriebswirtschaftliche Prüfungs- und Steuerlehre, der Management-Showcase und das Netzwerk-Forum am Institut für Management, der Weiterbildungsstudiengang Executive Master of Business Marketing, mit dem das Marketing-Department eine zweisemestrige berufsbegleitende Management-Weiterbildung anbietet, sind nur einige unserer Veranstaltungen, bei denen Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft im spannenden Austausch zusammentreffen.

 

Interaktiv.

Studierende und Lehrende nutzen am Fachbereich Wirtschaftswissenschaft der Freien Universität Berlin die webbasierte Lernplattform Blackboard. Hier können Dozenten Lehrmaterialen und Informationen zu ihren Veranstaltungen hinterlegen, um Studierenden so jederzeit Zugriff auf die benötigten Informationen zu gewähren. Blackboard ist außerdem ein Diskussionsforum zum wissenschaftlichen Austausch zwischen Studierenden und Lehrenden. FU-weit wird Blackboard seit der Einführung im Sommer 2004 inzwischen von 16.400 Studierenden genutzt - an unserem Fachbereich wird die Lernplattform in 30 – 40 Prozent aller Lehrveranstaltungen eingesetzt.

 

Anmeldungen zu Modulen, Lehrveranstaltungen und Prüfungen werden für Studierende über Campus Management erleichtert. Campus Management ist eine SAP-gestützte Service- und Kommunikationstechnik, die es bislang nur an der Freien Universität Berlin gibt und die im Zusammenhang mit dem Bologna-Prozess eingesetzt wird.