Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Structure of the Master in Public Economics

The following Master program in Public Economics comprises a total of 120 credit points. 

Core Courses (36 ECTS)

The Master's in Public Economics emphasizes a rigorous theoretical education. Therefore, the program comprises six manadatory modules focussing on national and international Public Economics. We recommend to complete these modules within the first two semesters of your studies.

A microeconomic education is a key part of any Economics program. Therefore, this modul shall provide you with in-depth methods and knowledge on microeconomic fundamentals. During the course, you shall familiarize yourself with the newest microeconomic approaches and applications, so that you may develop an intuitive understanding of far-reaching microeconomic relations. The goal of this module is to train you to recognize restrictions, and approaches as well as to carry out model extensions.

Among the module contents, you may find:

  • Households’ and firms’ decision theory
  • General Equilibrium Analysis
  • Fundamental theorems of Welfare Theory
  • Partial Equilibrium Analysis
  • Imperfect Competition
  • Game Theory

Being an important core area of Economics, Advanced Macroeconomics provides you in-depth methodic and specialized knowledge on the fundamentals of Macroeconomics. In this course you shall get a broad overview of the quantitative methods of growth and business cycle theory.

You shall learn to solve macroeconomic models formally and to interpret derived results. Upon course completion, you shall have gained an intuitive understanding of macroeconomic correlations as well as the ability to carry out individual model ampliations based on the limitations of the presented approaches.

The course content comprises:

  • Growth theories (e.g. Solow model, Ramsey model)
  • Business cycle theories: Real Business Cycle Model, New Keynesian Models
  • Modern Methods of Macroeconomics, e.g. Dynamic Optimization.

The module Welfare Economics contemplates the Theory of Market Failure from a public finance perspective and provides advanced methods for analysing public expenditure. Students shall learn to analyse fundamental problems of a welfare state in an independent manner and to assess the economic importante of central welfare institutions within a market economy.

The course content comprises, among others:

  • Insurance role of the welfare state
  • Market failure and insurance
  • Ensuring labour income through the State
  • Redistribution by means of income taxation
  • Public supply of private goods
  • Poverty alleviation

Command of microeconometric methods is a key requirement for the independent execution of empiric analyses in the field of Public Finance. Besides fundamental empirial models, students shall learn quasi-experimental methods of modern causal analysis. The theoretical contents are illustrated through empirical analyses of microdata in relation to current economic policy issues. The goal of this module is to enable students to perform independent, empirical work and to analyse and develop the presented methods and approaches.

The course content comprises, among others:

  • Logit, Probit, Tobit models
  • Difference-in-differences methods
  • Instrumental variables

This module provides students with an understanding of the public finance interdependence of open economies. In this respect, diverse issues, such as European integration, globalization, tax competition and global trade policy. The goal of this module is to provide the economic tools to identify and solve public finance problems in scenarios with competing state stakeholders.

The course content comprises, among others:

  • Federalism
  • Strategic aspects of taxation: e.g. tax competition, ta coordination.
  • Economics of international negotiations
  • International aspects of consumption, factor income and resource taxation
  • Economics of customs and trade policy. 

Public Finance theories on optimal taxation as a part of economic income policy are a fundamental component of this module. Based on the contents therein taught, the students shall obtain a deep understanding of the working mechanism of taxes. Students shall furthermore learn about the relevant interest conflicts of taxation as well as discuss these from an economic perspective. Upon successful completion of this module, students shall be able to provide economically founded recommendations in order to develop and analyse taxation theory and policy instruments.

The course content comprises, among others:

  • Optimal taxation theory
  • Tax incidence analysis
  • The excess burden of taxation
  • Design of tax systems and tax reform
  • Conflict of interests between efficiency and redistribution
  • Taxation of external effects

Elective Courses (12 ECTS each from two different elective fields)

The four elective fields offer students the possibility to tailor their studies according to their interests. In order to complete the program succesfully, students must take at least 12 credits from two different elective fields (the so-called “12 out of 2” rule).

  • Current Research Questions on Empirical Public Economics and Economic Policy (6 ECTS)

  • Current Research Questions on International Fiscal Policy (6 ECTS)*

  • Current Research Questions on Social Policy (6 ECTS)*

  • Current Research Questions on Public Economic Theory (6 ECTS)

  • Poverty and Distribution (6 ECTS)**

  • Selected Topics in Social Policy (6 ECTS)*

  • Selected Topics in Taxation Theory and Policy (6 ECTS)*

  • Income Tax Law (6 ECTS)

  • Empirical Public Economics and Economic Policy (6 ECTS)**

  • Reforming the Welfare State (6 ECTS)**

  • Microeconometrics (6 ECTS)*

  • Tax Effects (6 ECTS)

  • Knowledge Transfer (6 ECTS)**

  • Current Research Topics on Labor Market Economics (6 ECTS)*

  • Current Research on Educational Economics (6 ECTS)*

  • Advanced Labour Economics (6 ECTS)**

  • Working with Panel Data (6 ECTS)*

  • Selected Topics in Labor Market Research (6 ECTS)*

  • Economics of Education (6 ECTS)*

  • The Legal Parameters of Labor Policy (6 ECTS) 

  • Labor Market Policy  (6 ECTS)*

  • Knowledge Transfer (6 ECTS)**

  • Current Research Questions on Microeconomics (6 ECTS)

  • Current Research Questions on Political Economy (6 ECTS)*

  • Selected Topics in Social Policy (6 ECTS)*

  • Design of Economic Systems (6 ECTS)**

  • Information Economic (6 ECTS)

  • Economics of Innovation and Innovation Policies (6 ECTS)**

  • Öffentliche Regulation of State-Owned Enterprises (6 LP)**

  • Public Choice (6 LP)

  • Knowledge Transfer (6 ECTS)**

  • Current Research Questions on international Macroeconomics (6 ECTS)*

  • Current Research Questions on Macroeconomics (6 ECTS)*

  • International Institutions (6 ECTS)*

  • Selected Topics in Macroeconomics (6 ECTS)*

  • Money and Fiscal Policy (6 ECTS)

  • International Economic History (12 ECTS)***

  • International Economics (12 ECTS)***

  • International Macroeconomics (6 ECTS)**

  • Capital Market Theory (6 ECTS)*

  • Capital Markets and Regulation (6 ECTS)*

  • Complex Methods of Modern Econometrics (6 ECTS)*

  • Methods of Modern Macroeconomics (6 ECTS)*

  • Econometric Analysis (6 ECTS)

  • US Economic Policy (12 ECTS)***

  • Economic History of the 20th Century (6 ECTS)**

  • Economic Growth (6 ECTS)

  • Knowledge Transfer (6 ECTS)**

* Modules not offered every semester according to current study regulations.

** Modules only offered once every two years according to current study regulations.

*** Modules offered every third semester according to study regulations.

Elective Courses (12 ECTS)

The free elective area offers students the possibility of choosing modules from all elective fields. Students can therefore deepen their chosen elective field or take modules from different elective fields as well.

Furthermore, courses with a public finance focus approved during a semester abroad or at the Berlin School of Economics (BSE) may be recognized.

Are you interested in a semester abroad during your Master? Then inform yourself with our colleagues at the International Office.

Before you leave to your desired university abroad, you should inform yourself about the possibility of getting said courses recognized for your Master study. Your Master’s coordination will be glad to assist you.

Further information on studying abroad

In 2019, the former Berlin Doctoral Program in Economics and Management Science (BDPEMS), together with the Graduate Center of the German Institute for Economic Research (DIW GC), merged to form the new Berlin School of Economics (BSE). With its numerous PhD courses, the BSE offers exciting economic courses at the highest level. As part of the PhD Fast Track students may also get these courses recognized for their Master studies and thus profit from this course offer as well by reducing their future doctoral studies at BSE.

Further information on the course offer at BSE

Did you find an exciting course at BSE? Then clarify the possibility of getting the credits recognized in advance. 

Internship & Research Project (18 LP)

A special feature of our programs is the mandatory internship of at least 540 working hours (approx. 3 months of full-time work), which students are required to complete before program completion.

The mandatory internship can be completed with an external employer or in the form of an independent research project at one of the Chairs of the School of Business & Economics at Freie Universität Berlin.

In an independently organized internship, students shall be able to apply and deepen their learned competencies in a large variety of fields.

Students may also complete this mandatory internship in a public institution, such as a ministry, an economic association or an NGO. Many of said employers fill their internship positions exclusively with students who must complete mandatory internships. This is a decisive advantage for our students.

In order to make sure your desired internship can be recognized as such, said occupation should be within a relevant field and as research-oriented as possible. It should be a good complement to the student’s chosen elective fields and it can also be completed abroad. The duration of the internship comprises about three months.

Further information on the internship

Have you already carried out an internship during your studies? Then the research project may be a good alternative.

The research project comprises the independent completion of a scientific project at one of our Chairs. Consistent to the focus of your studies, the project should have a public finance or economic policy focus.

The organization of the project takes place in a highly autonomous manner and through direct contact with the Chairs. We also provide interesting research propositions exclusively for our students.

Further information on the research project

Master's Thesis (30 ECTS)

For a successful completion of the Master in Public Economics, students must write an independent Master’s thesis. This work may be prepared within a period of 23 weeks.

Usually, the Master’s thesis comprises the finalization of your study. Yet you may also enroll your Master’s thesis in advance under certain circumstances. For this, you are obligated to proof that you have completed modules for at least 60 ECTS. Said modules must contain at least one economic seminar.

Once the requirements for the enrolment of a Master’s thesis are fulfilled, students must then find an appropriate research topic. The topic assignment is carried out independently by each Chair.

In an ideal scenario, you may already have an idea for an exciting topic, which you would like to develop with a potential tutor. If your tutor agrees to the topic, you may enroll your Master’s thesis at the Examination Office at any time.

Many Chairs also publish their own lists with topics of interest, to which students may also apply. Chairs often have additional requirements for students wishing to write their Master’s thesis with them. Students should therefor inform themselves in advance for a prospective application.

Should you not be able to find a tutor, you may enroll your Master’s thesis at the Examination Office by adding preferred tutor options. You shall then be assigned with a tutor by the Examinations Office.

Regardless of which way you choose, the enrolment of your Master’s thesis is, in any case, guaranteed.

Further information on Master's Theses

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Aufbau des Studiums

Das folgende Masterprogramm in Public Economics umfasst bis zum Abschluss 120 LP.

Kernbereich (36 LP)

Der Master in Public Economics legt großen Wert auf eine solide volkswirtschaftliche Grundlagenausbildung. Er umfasst daher sechs Pflichtmodule mit einem Fokus auf nationaler und internationaler Finanzwissenschaft. Es wird empfohlen diese Module innerhalb der ersten zwei Semester des Masterstudiums abzuschließen.

Die mikroökonomische Ausbildung ist Kernbestandteil eines jeden volkswirtschaftlichen Studiums. Dementsprechend vermittelt Ihnen dieses Modul vertiefte methodische und inhaltliche Kenntnisse über Grundlagen der Mikroökonomie. Sie werden mit neuen mikroökonomischen Ansätzen und deren Anwendung vertraut gemacht, sodass Sie ein intuitives Verständnis für weitreichende mikroökonomische Zusammenhänge entwickeln. Ziel des Moduls ist es, Sie dazu zu befähigen, Einschränkungen vorgestellter Ansätze zu erkennen und Erweiterungen vorzunehmen.

Zu den Inhalten zählen unter anderem:

  • Entscheidungstheorie des Haushaltes und der Unternehmung
  • allgemeine Gleichgewichtsanalyse
  • Hauptsätze der Wohlfahrtstheorie
  • partielle Gleichgewichtsanalyse
  • unvollständiger Wettbewerb
  • Spieltheorie

Als weiterer Kernbereich der Volkswirtschaftslehre vermittelt Ihnen die Makroökonomische Analyse vertiefte methodische und inhaltliche Kenntnisse über Grundlagen im Bereich der Makroökonomie. Hier erhalten Sie einen umfassenden Überblick über quantitativen Modelle der Wachstums- und der Konjunkturtheorie.

Sie werden lernen, makroökonomische Modelle formal zu lösen und hergeleitete Ergebnisse zu interpretieren. Am Ende sollen Sie ein intuitives Verständnis für makroökonomische Zusammenhänge besitzen und eigene Modellerweiterungen basierend auf Einschränkungen der vorgestellten Ansätze vornehmen können.

Die Inhalte umfassen:

  • Wachstumstheorie: z.B. Solow Modell, Ramsey Modell
  • Konjunkturtheorie: Real Business Cycle Modelle, Neukeynesianische Modelle
  • Moderne Methoden der Makroökonomie wie z.B. Dynamische Optimierung

Das Modul Ökonomie des Wohlfahrtsstaates betrachtet die Theorie des Marktversagens aus finanzwissenschaftlicher Perspektive und vermittelt somit fortgeschrittene Methoden der finanzwissenschaftlichen Ausgabenpolitik. Studierende sollen dazu befähigt werden, grundlegende Probleme eines Wohlfahrtsstaates eigenständig zu analysieren und die ökonomische Bedeutung der zentralen wohlfahrtsstaatlichen Institutionen innerhalb der Marktwirtschaft zu beurteilen.

Die Inhalte des Kurses umfassen unter anderem:

  • Versicherungsfunktion des Wohlfahrtsstaates
  • Marktversagen bei Versicherungen
  • Staatliche Sicherung des Arbeitseinkommens
  • Redistribution durch Einkommensbesteuerung
  • öffentliche Bereitstellung privater Güter
  • Armutsbekämpfung

Das Beherrschen mikroökonometrischer Methoden ist eine wichtige Voraussetzung zur eigenständigen Durchführung empirischer Analysen im Bereich Public Economics. Neben grundlegenden empirischen Modellen erlernen Sie hier quasi-experimentelle Verfahren der modernen Kausalanalyse. Die theoretischen Inhalte werden dabei durch die empirische Analyse von Mikrodaten in Bezug auf aktuelle wirtschaftspolitische Fragestellungen illustriert. Ziel des Moduls ist die Befähigung zur eigenständigen empirischen Arbeit und zur Analyse und Weiterentwicklung der vorgestellten Ansätze und Methoden.

Zu den Inhalten zählen unter anderem:

  • Logit, Probit, Tobit Modelle
  • Difference-in-Differences Methode
  • Instrumentenvariablen
  • Regression Discontinuity Analysis

Mit diesem Modul werden Ihnen die finanzpolitischen Verflechtungen offener Volkswirtschaften nähergebracht. Dabei stehen unterschiedliche Fragestellungen der europäischen Integration, der Globalisierung, des Steuerwettbewerbs und der globalen Handelspolitik im Vordergrund. Ziel der Veranstaltung ist die Vermittlung des ökonomischen Rüstzeugs für die Identifikation und Lösung finanzwissenschaftlicher Probleme in Situation mit mehreren, teilweise in Konkurrenz zueinanderstehenden staatlichen Akteuren.

Die Inhalte des Moduls umfassen unter anderem:

  • Föderalismus
  • Strategische Aspekte der Besteuerung: z.B. Steuerwettbewerb, Steuerkoordinierung
  • Ökonomie internationaler Verhandlungen
  • Internationale Aspekte der Verbrauchs-, Faktoreinkommens- und Ressourcenbesteuerung
  • Ökonomie der Zoll- und Handelspolitik

Die finanzwissenschaftliche Theorie der optimalen Besteuerung als Teil der ökonomischen Einnahmepolitik ist Bestandteil dieses Moduls. Auf Basis der vermittelten Inhalte erhalten Sie ein tiefgehendes Verständnis der Wirkungsweise von Steuern. Darüber hinaus werden wichtige Zielkonflikte bei der Besteuerung beleuchtet und aus ökonomischer Perspektive diskutiert. Am Ende des Moduls sollen Sie in der Lage sein, ökonomisch fundierte Vorschläge zur Entwicklung und Analyse steuertheoretischer und steuerpolitischer Instrumente zu vermitteln. 

Die Inhalte des Moduls umfassen unter anderem:

  • Optimalsteuertheorie
  • Steuerinzidenzanalyse
  • Zusatzlast der Besteuerung
  • Steuerdesign und Steuerreform
  • Zielkonflikt zwischen Effizienz und Verteilung
  • Besteuerung externer Effekte

Schwerpunktbereiche (je 12 LP aus zwei Bereichen)

Die vier Schwerpunktbereiche bieten Ihnen Gelegenheit, Ihr Studium nach Ihren Interessen auszurichten. Hierbei müssen Sie für einen erfolgreichen Studienabschluss mindestens 12 LP aus zwei verschiedenen Schwerpunktbereichen absolvieren (12-aus-2-Regel).

  • Aktuelle Forschungsfragen der empirischen Finanzwissenschaft und Wirtschaftspolitik (6 LP)
  • Aktuelle Forschungsfragen der internationalen Finanzpolitik (6 LP)*
  • Aktuelle Forschungsfragen der Sozialpolitik (6 LP)*
  • Aktuelle Forschungsfragen der theoretischen Finanzwissenschaft (6 LP)
  • Armut und Verteilung (6LP)**
  • Ausgewählte Themen der Sozialpolitik (6 LP)*
  • Ausgewählte Themen der Steuertheorie und -politik (6 LP)*
  • Einkommensteuerrecht (6 LP)
  • Empirische Finanzwissenschaft und Wirtschaftspolitik (6 LP)**
  • Großbaustelle Sozialstaat (6 LP)**
  • Mikroökonometrie (6 LP)*
  • Steuerwirkungen (6 LP)
  • Wissenstransfer (6 LP)**
  • Aktuelle Forschungsfragen der Arbeitsmarktökonomik (6 LP)*
  • Aktuelle Forschungsfragen der Bildungsökonomik (6 LP)*
  • Arbeitsmarkttheorie (6 LP)**
  • Arbeit mit Paneldaten (6 LP)*
  • Ausgewählte Themen der Arbeitsmarktforschung (6 LP)*
  • Bildungsökonomie (6 LP)*
  • Rechtliche Rahmenbedingungen der Arbeitsmarktpolitik (6 LP)
  • Staat und Beschäftigung (6 LP)*
  • Wissenstransfer (6 LP)**
  • Aktuelle Forschungsfragen der Mikroökonomie (6 LP)
  • Aktuelle Forschungsfragen der politischen Ökonomie (6 LP)*
  • Ausgewählte Themen der Sozialpolitik (6 LP)*
  • Design von Wirtschaftssystemen (6 LP)**
  • Informationsökonomie (6 LP)
  • Innovationsökonomie und -politik (6 LP)**
  • Öffentliche Unternehmen und Regulierung (6 LP)**
  • Ökonomische Theorie politischer Entscheidungen (6 LP)
  • Wissenstransfer (6 LP)**
  • Aktuelle Forschungsfragen der internationalen Makroökonomie (6 LP)*
  • Aktuelle Forschungsfragen der Makroökonomie (6 LP)
  • Architektur internationaler Wirtschaftsinstitutionen (6 LP)*
  • Ausgewählte Themen der Makroökonomie (6 LP)*
  • Geld- und Fiskalpolitik (6 LP)
  • International Economic History (12 LP)***
  • International Economics (12 LP)***
  • Internationale Makroökonomie (6 LP)**
  • Kapitalmarkttheorie (6 LP)*
  • Kapitalmärkte und Regulierung (6 LP)*
  • Komplexe Methoden der modernen Ökonometrie (6 LP)*
  • Methoden der modernen Makroökonomie (6 LP)*
  • Ökonometrische Analyse (6 LP)
  • US Economic Policy (12 LP)***
  • Wirtschaftsgeschichte des 20. Jahrhunderts (6 LP)**
  • Wirtschaftswachstum (6 LP)
  • Wissenstransfer (6 LP)**

* Module werden laut Studienordnung nur unregelmäßig angeboten.

** Module werden laut Studienordnung nur einmal in zwei Studienjahren angeboten.

*** Module werden laut Studienordnung jedes dritte Semester angeboten.

Freier Wahlbereich (12 LP)

Der freie Wahlbereich bietet Ihnen die Möglichkeit, aus Modulen aller Schwerpunktbereiche zu wählen. Sie können somit Ihren selbst gewählten Studienschwerpunkt vertiefen oder Module aus anderen Schwerpunktbereichen belegen.

Darüber hinaus können Sie hier Leistungen einbringen, die Sie im Rahmen von finanzwissenschaftlichen Veranstaltungen eines Auslandsstudiums oder der Berlin School of Economics (BSE) absolviert haben.

Sind Sie an einem Auslandsstudium während Ihres Masters interessiert? Dann informieren Sie sich bei unseren Kolleginnen und Kollegen des International Office über Ihre Möglichkeiten.

Bevor Sie an Ihre Wunschuniversität im Ausland gehen, sollten Sie sich rechtzeitig über die Möglichkeiten einer Anerkennung Ihrer dort erbrachten Leistungen in Ihrem Masterstudium bei uns informieren. Ihre Studiengangskoordination unterstützt Sie dabei gern.

Informationen zum Studieren im Ausland

Im Jahr 2019 formte das ehemalige Berlin Doctoral Program in Economics and Management Science (BDPEMS) zusammen mit dem Graduate Center des Deutschen Instituts für Wirtschaftsforschung Berlin (DIW GC) die neue Berlin School of Economics (BSE). In ihren zahlreichen PhD-Kursen bietet die BSE spannende volkswirtschaftliche Kurse auf höchstem Niveau. Damit auch Sie von diesem Angebot profitieren, können Sie sich Kurse des BSE im freien Wahlbereich anerkennen lassen. Diese Kurse können im Rahmen des PhD Fast Track Ihr späteres Promotionsstudium an der BSE verkürzen.

Weitere Informationen zum Kursangebot der BSE

Sie haben im Kursprogramm der BSE einen spannenden Kurs entdeckt? Dann klären Sie am besten die Möglichkeit einer Anerkennung im Vorfeld mit Ihrer Studiengangskoordination ab.

Anwendungsorientierter Bereich (18 LP)

Eine Besonderheit unseres Programms ist ein Pflichtpraktikum über mindestens 540 Arbeitsstunden (ca. 3 Monate), welches Sie vor Erhalt Ihres Abschlusses absolvieren müssen.

Das Pflichtpraktikum kann klassisch bei einem externen Arbeitgeber oder aber in Form eines eigenständigen Forschungsprojekts an einem Lehrstuhl des Fachbereichs Wirtschaftswissenschaft an der Freien Universität Berlin absolviert werden.

In einem eigenständig organisierten Praktikum können Sie Ihr erlerntes Wissen und Ihre erworbenen Kompetenzen in einer Vielzahl von Tätigkeitsfeldern anwenden und vertiefen.

Da das Praktikum ein Pflichtbestandteil Ihres Studiums ist, bietet sich Ihnen hier die Gelegenheit, im Rahmen Ihrer Ausbildung ein Praktikum bei einer öffentlichen Institution, wie z.B. einem Ministerium, einem Wirtschaftsverband oder einer NGO zu absolvieren. Viele dieser Arbeitgeber stellen nur Pflichtpraktikantinnen und Pflichtpraktikanten ein. Dass unser Master in Public Economics ein solches Pflichtpraktikum vorsieht, kann also zum entscheidenden Vorteil für Sie werden.

Damit das Praktikum gut zu Ihrem Masterstudium bei uns passt, sollte es fachrelevant und möglichst forschungsorientiert sein. Es soll zu Ihrem im Studium gewählten Studienschwerpunkten passen und kann auch im Ausland absolviert werden. Die Dauer des Pflichtbestandteils des Praktikums beträgt ca. 3 Monate.

Weitere Informationen zum Praktikum

Sie haben in Ihrem Studium schon genügend Praktika absolviert? Dann bietet Ihnen das Forschungsprojekt eine passende Alternative. 

Das Forschungsprojekt umfasst die eigenständige Durchführung eines wissenschaftlichen Projekts an einem Lehrstuhl unseres Fachbereichs Wirtschaftswissenschaft. Passend zum Fokus Ihres Studiums sollte das Projekt einen finanzwissenschaftlichen oder wirtschaftspolitischen Schwerpunkt haben.

Die Organisation verläuft größtenteils dezentral durch die direkte Kontaktaufnahme mit den Lehrstühlen. Es werden aber auch interessante Forschungsvorhaben als Forschungsprojekte exklusiv für unsere Masterstudierenden ausgeschrieben.

Weitere Informationen zum Forschungsprojekt

Masterarbeit (30 LP)

Für einen erfolgreichen Abschluss des Masters in Public Economics ist das eigenständige Verfassen einer Qualifikationsarbeit auf Masterniveau erforderlich. Die Bearbeitungszeit beträgt 23 Wochen.

In der Regel bildet die Masterarbeit den Abschluss ihres Studiums. Doch unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen können Sie Ihre Arbeit auch schon vorher anmelden. Dafür müssen Sie lediglich nachweisen, dass Sie bereits Module im Umfang von mindestens 60 LP abgeschlossen haben. Unter diesen Modulen muss sich mindestens ein volkswirtschaftliches Seminar befinden.

Sind die Voraussetzungen für die Anmeldung der Masterarbeit erfüllt, gilt es ein passendes Thema zu finden. Die Themenvergabe erfolgt dabei dezentral durch die volkswirtschaftlichen Lehrstühle des Fachbereichs Wirtschaftswissenschaft.

Im Idealfall haben Sie bereits eine Idee für ein spannendes Thema entwickelt, welches Sie einem potenziellen Betreuer Ihrer Abschlussarbeit vorstellen können. Ist Ihr Betreuer oder Ihre Betreuerin mit dem Thema einverstanden, kann die Arbeit jederzeit beim Prüfungsbüro angemeldet werden.

Viele Lehrstühle veröffentlichen darüber hinaus eigene Listen mit Themenvorschlägen, auf die Sie sich bewerben können. Dabei gelten oftmals zusätzliche Voraussetzungen, die von den Lehrstühlen zur Eingrenzung des Bewerberfeldes genutzt werden. Informieren Sie sich daher rechtzeitig auf den Seiten der Lehrstühle über mögliche Themen und Voraussetzungen für eine Bewerbung.

Finden Sie keinen passenden Betreuer, können Sie die Arbeit unter Angabe von Betreuungspräferenzen anmelden. Ihnen wird dann anhand freier Kapazitäten durch das Prüfungsbüro eine Betreuerin oder ein Betreuer vermittelt.

Für welchen Weg Sie sich auch entscheiden, das Schreiben der Abschlussarbeit zu Ihrem Wunschtermin ist Ihnen garantiert.

Informationen zur Anmeldung der Masterarbeit