Springe direkt zu Inhalt

PhD Fast Track

Quick-start your PhD

Since the establishment of the PhD Fast Track, the cooperation between the Berlin Doctoral Program in Economics and Management Science (BDPEMS) and our Master program has increased further. By now, the BDPEMS has merged with the Graduate Center of the German Institute for Economic Research Berlin (DIW GC) into the new Berlin School of Economics (BSE). We were able to acquire another renowned graduate school for a close cooperation.

The main objective of the Fast-Track is the early promotion of young, motivated and outstanding early-stage researchers with the intention of obtaining a doctoral degree. The Fast-Track enables students of the Master Program Public Economics to attend basic courses of the BDPEMS already during their master studies and thus to benefit from the contact and exchange with the PhD students of the BDPEMS. Ideally, due to the Fast-Track, students may shorten the total length of their master and doctoral studies by a whole year by completing all of the 1st-year basic courses of the BDPEMS during their master studies

You may already apply for a Fast Track program study place at the Berlin School of Economics at the beginning of your Master studies. If your application is successul, you shall benefit from exciting support opportunities, such as access to workshops and seminars. 

An application at the beginning of your Master's is nevertheless not absolutely necessary to quick-start your doctorate. You may take BSE courses independently from your study place at the Fast Track program. The possibility of a double recognition in your Master Public Economics and in the BSE remains open. 

Further information on applying for the Berlin School of Economics PhD.

The prerequisite is to be enrolled in our Master in Public Economics. Furthermore, besides this requisite, you are free to take courses at BSE. Yet it is advisable to coordinate your participation with the lecturer in advance.

Since the BSE has a broad course offer, you may also find courses from other fields of the Economic Sciences. In order to get a course recognized for your studies, said courses must match similar courses in your Public Economics program and/or have a Public Economics in order to be considered within the elective area. The courses at BSE meet international standards which means that they are suitable for recognition in other PhD programs too.

Your participation at BSE courses does not guarantee a successful application fort the highly demanded graduate program. In order to be considered, you are to apply separately.

Only after a successful admission at BSE shall the approved courses be recognized. Said courses remain recognized for your Master studies regardless of the outcome of the BSE application process.

Further information on the BSE application

On the website of the BDPEMS and of DIW GC you shall find their varied programs. Courses therein offered by our lecturers may be taken without a previous enrollment. If you would like to take other courses, then you may want to coordinate your participation in advance with the Master’s coordination on the concrete recognition possibilities.

Information on the BPDEMS course program

Information on the DIW GC course program

General questions on the PhD Fast Track as well as to the recognition possibilities of BSE courses may be addressed anytime to the Master’s coordination. We are glad to assist you.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

PhD Fast Track

Der Blitzstart in Ihre Promotion

Die Einrichtung des PhD Fast Tracks geht auf eine verstärkte Zusammenarbeit des Berlin Doctoral Program in Economics and Management Science (BDPEMS) und unserem Masterprogramm zurück. Mittlerweile ist das BDPEMS zusammen mit dem Graduate Center des Deutschen Instituts für Wirtschaftsforschung Berlin (DIW GC) in der neuen Berlin School of Economics (BSE) aufgegangen. Wir konnten somit einen weitere renommierte Graduiertenschule für eine enge Kooperation gewinnen.

Das grundlegende Ziel des Fast Tracks ist die frühzeitige Förderung junger, motivierter und leistungsstarker Nachwuchswissenschaftler und -wissenschaftlerinnen mit der Absicht einer Promotion. Durch den Fast Track können Sie als Studierende in Public Economics bereits während Ihres Masterstudiums grundlegende Veranstaltungen der BSE besuchen. Sie knüpfen dabei nicht nur wichtige Kontakte mit Promotionsstudierenden, sondern verkürzen im Idealfall auch noch die Gesamtdauer Ihres eigenen Promotionsstudiums um ein ganzes Jahr. Sie können nämlich sämtliche Module aus dem ersten Studienjahr der BSE belegen und Ihnen sowohl in unserem Masterprogramm als auch bei einem späteren Studium an der BSE anerkennen lassen.

Sie können sich bereits zu Beginn Ihres Masterstudiums an der Berlin School of Economics auf einen Platz im Fast Track Programm bewerben. Im Falle einer erfolgreichen Bewerbung profitieren Sie hierbei von spannenden Fördermöglichkeiten, wie z.B. der Einladung zu Workshops und Seminaren.

Eine Bewerbung ist allerdings nicht zwingend notwendig, um einen Blitzstart in Ihre Promotion hinzulegen. Sie können die Kurse der BSE unabhängig von einem Platz im Fast Track Programm belegen. Die Möglichkeit einer doppelten Anerkennung in Ihrem Master in Public Economics und später an der BSE bleibt Ihnen auch in diesem Fall erhalten.

Informationen zur Bewerbung an der BSE

Grundvoraussetzung ist die Immatrikulation in unserem Masterstudiengang in Public Economics. Darüber hinaus müssen Sie zunächst keine weiteren formalen Voraussetzungen erfüllen, um Kurse des BSE belegen zu können. Grundsätzlich müssen Sie jedoch eine Teilnahme mit den Kursleiterinnen oder Kursleitern im Vorfeld vereinbaren.

Da die BSE breit aufgestellt ist, finden sich in ihrem Kursprogramm auch Veranstaltungen aus anderen Teilgebieten der Wirtschaftswissenschaft. Für eine Anerkennung in Ihrem Masterstudium müssen die Veranstaltungen entweder zu Modulen des Studienprogramms in Public Economics passen oder aber einen finanzwissenschaftlichen oder wirtschaftspolitischen Fokus haben, damit eine Anerkennung im freien Wahlbereich in Frage kommt.

Ihre Teilnahme an den Kursen der BSE noch kein Garant für eine erfolgreiche Bewerbung auf einen begehrten Platz im Graduiertenkolleg. Hierfür müssen Sie sich rechtzeitig separat bewerben.

Erst bei einer erfolgreichen Aufnahme in die BSE, werden Ihnen dort die bereits erbrachten Leistungen angerechnet. Unabhängig vom Ausgang dieses Bewerbungsverfahrens bleiben die Anrechnungen für Ihren Masterabschluss in jedem Fall bestehen.

Informationen zur Bewerbung an der BSE

Auf den Seiten des BDPEMS und der DIW GC finden Sie ein vielseitiges Kursprogramm. Veranstaltungen, die hier durch unsere Dozierenden angeboten werden, können Sie ohne weitere Voranmeldungen besuchen. Wenn Sie darüber hinaus andere Kurse besuchen möchten, dann sollten Sie sich im Vorfeld mit Ihrer Studiengangskoordination über konkrete Anrechnungsmöglichkeiten verständigen.

Informationen zum Kursangebot des BDPEMS

Informationen zum Kursangebot des DIW GC

Allgemeine Fragen zum PhD Fast Track sowie zu Anrechnungsmöglichkeiten von Kursen der BSE können Sie jederzeit an Ihre Studiengangskoordination richten. Gerne helfen wir Ihnen weiter!