Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Internship & Research Project

From Theory to Practice

A special feature of the Master's in Public Economics is the applied area where students are asked to put their knowledge acquired from lectures and seminars into practice. Since our program is research-oriented the internship or research project chosen by students should focus on the economic analysis of policy.

Depending on their interests, students can either complete an internship at an external institution or a research project at one of the School of Business and Economics' chairs.  

Internship

  • The internship must have a sufficient connection to your studies in Public Economics. The focus of the internship must therefore lie on the economic analysis of political issues.
  • The full scope of work of the internship must be at least 540 hours of work. The duration of a full-time internship with 40 hours per week is therefore approximately 13.5 weeks.
  • In general, only internships will be recognized by our master program, but not times of employment as working student or student assistant.
  • Also, only those internships will be recognized that have been done after completing your undergraduate studies or, ideally, during your masters' program.

Suitable internships can be found at, e.g.:

In general, we encourage you to complete the internship as a whole. However, since this is not always possible, several internships or a split internship will be recognized in justified cases. Yet, the amount of hours of work must still account for at least 540 hours of work (at least 320 hours of work according to the old study regulations). Please discuss this with the program coordinator or his team in due time.

Once you have received your internship certificate from your employer, you must present the original of that certificate to Ms. Cordula Arlinghaus (please leave your student ID number and your e-mail address in case of questions). You will be notified of the status of the recognition via e-mail. In case of a successful recognition of the internship, a letter of recognition will be forwarded to the examination office directly, without any further action on your part.

Research Project

  • The research project must have a sufficient connection to your studies in Public Economics. The focus of the research project must therefore lie on the economic analysis of political issues.

  • The full scope of work of the research project must be at least 540 hours of work (at least 320 hours of work according to the old study regulations). The duration of a full-time research project with 40 hours per week is therefore approximately 13.5 weeks.

Ideally, at the end of your research project you have contributed to the research of your supervising professor or even authored a small paper. Also, it is possible that the results of your research project may serve as preparatory work for your master thesis. Please discuss this possibility with your supervising professor at an early stage.

Generally, you can carry out your research project at any economic chair of the School of Business and Economics of the Freie Universität Berlin. Just confront the professor of your choice with the possibility of carrying out a research project. Certainly, it is recommendable to have visited a seminar of that certain professor beforehand.

Once you have completed your research project, please ask your supervising professor for a certificate that states the duration and the content of your research project and present the original to Ms. Cordula Arlinghaus (please leave your student ID number and your e-mail address in case of questions). You will be notified of the status of the recognition via e-mail. In case of a successful recognition of the research project, a letter of recognition will be forwarded to the examination office directly, without any further action on your part.

Please contact the program coordinators if you have any further questions regarding the internship or research project.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Praktikum & Forschungsprojekt

Von der Theorie zur Praxis

Eine Besonderheit des Master in Public Economics ist der sogenannte anwendungsorientierte Bereich, in dessen Rahmen Sie das in den Vorlesungen und Seminaren Gelernte in die Praxis umsetzen sollen. Da das Masterprogramm forschungsorientiert ist, sollte sich diese Ausrichtung auch in diesem Bereich fortsetzen. Im Vordergrund steht daher die individuelle ökonomische Auseinandersetzung mit politischen Fragestellungen.

Um Ihren Interessen und Karriereplänen gerecht zu werden, können Sie entweder ein Praktikum bei einem externen Arbeitgeber oder aber ein eigenes Forschungsprojekt bei einem unserer volkswirtschaftlichen Lehrstühle absolvieren.

Praktikum

  • Der Inhalt des Praktikums muss einen hinreichenden Bezug zu Ihrem Studium darstellen. Der Schwerpunkt Ihres Praktikums muss daher auf der volkswirtschaftlichen Analyse politischer Fragestellungen liegen.
  • Der volle Arbeitsumfang des Praktikums muss ca. 540 Arbeitsstunden betragen. Um sich ein Vollzeitpraktikum mit 40 Arbeitsstunden die Woche anrechnen zu lassen, müssten Sie demnach ein ca. 13,5-wöchiges Praktikum absolvieren
  • Stellen als Werkstudentin oder Werkstudent oder studentische Hilfskraft können nicht anerkannt werden.
  • Weiterhin werden nur Praktika anerkannt, die Sie nach Abschluss Ihres Bachelorstudiums bzw. im Idealfall während Ihres Masterstudiums absolviert haben.

Geeignete Stellen finden Sie oftmals bei

Grundsätzlich empfehlen wir Ihnen, das Praktikum in einem Stück zu absolvieren. Da dies jedoch nicht immer möglich ist, können in begründeten Fällen auch mehrere Praktika oder ein aufgeteiltes Praktikum anerkannt werden. Wichtig hierbei ist, dass insgesamt ein Umfang von ca. 540 Arbeitsstunden absolviert werden muss. Bitte stimmen Sie dies rechtzeitig mit Ihrer Studiengangskoordination ab.

Sobald Sie Ihr Praktikumszeugnis von Ihrem Arbeitgeber erhalten haben, legen Sie dieses bitte im Original bei Frau Cordula Arlinghaus vor (bitte immer unter Angabe Ihrer Matrikelnummer sowie Ihrer E-Mail-Adresse). Im Falle einer erfolgreichen Anerkennung des Praktikums, wird ein entsprechendes Anerkennungsschreiben direkt ans Prüfungsbüro weitergeleitet, sodass Sie nichts weiter unternehmen müssen. Sollten wir Rückfragen haben, werden wir Sie direkt per E-Mail kontaktieren.

Forschungsprojekt

  • Der Inhalt Ihres Forschungsprojektes muss einen hinreichenden Bezug zu Ihrem Studium darstellen. Der Schwerpunkt Ihres Forschungsprojektes muss daher auf der volkswirtschaftlichen Analyse politischer Fragestellungen liegen.
  • Der volle Arbeitsumfang des Forschungsprojektes muss ca. 540 Arbeitsstunden betragen. Bei einer Wochenarbeitszeit von 40 Arbeitsstunden, müssten Sie demnach ein ca. 13,5-wöchiges Forschungsprojekt absolvieren.

Im Idealfall haben Sie am Ende Ihres Forschungsprojektes eine eigene, kleine Publikation hervorgebracht bzw. einen Beitrag zu einem Forschungsvorhaben geleistet. Darüberhinaus besteht prinzipiell die Möglichkeit, die Ergebnisse Ihres Forschungsprojektes bereits als Grundlage für Ihre Masterarbeit zu verwenden. Bitte sprechen Sie diese Möglichkeit rechtzeitig mit Ihrem betreuenden Professor ab.

Grundsätzlich können Sie Ihr Forschungsprojekt an jedem volkswirtschaftlichen Lehrstuhl unseres Fachbereiches Wirtschaftswissenschaft durchführen. Sprechen Sie am besten den Lehrstuhl Ihrer Wahl direkt an. Es empfiehlt sich oftmals, ein Seminar im Vorfeld bei diesem Lehrstuhl gehört zu haben.

Sobald Sie Ihr Forschungsprojekt abgeschlossen haben, lassen Sie sich bitte von Ihrem betreuenden Professor ein formloses Schreiben über Dauer und Inhalt des Forschungsprojektes ausstellen und legen dieses im Original bei Frau Cordula Arlinghaus vor (bitte immer unter Angabe Ihrer Matrikelnummer sowie Ihrer E-Mail-Adresse).

Das ausgestellte Anerkennungsschreiben wird direkt ans Prüfungsbüro weitergeleitet, sodass Sie nichts weiter unternehmen müssen. Die Erstellung eines Abschlussberichts ist nicht gefordert.

Sollten Sie weitere Fragen zu Ihrem Praktikum oder Forschungsprojekt haben, können Sie sich jederzeit an Ihre Studiengangskoordination wenden.