Incentives and disincentives for sharing frailty-related information in perioperative care based on an integrated IT approach

In Germany, approximately 16 million patients undergo surgical procedures per year, half of which are performed in patients over the age of 65. These patients are especially prone to frailty – defined as a clinically recognizable state of increased vulnerability resulting from aging-associated decline in reserve and function across multiple physiologic systems. Frailtyhas been recognized as underestimated area of health care, affecting both the individual patient as well as society from a greater public health perspective. Elderly patients undergoing surgery are prone to develop frailty-related complications that may go far beyond the index hospitalization (e.g. cognitive impairment following postoperative delirium). However, aging-relevant information are currently not fully integrated into hospitals’ perioperative processes.

For the management of patients’ anesthesia including adequate monitoring after the operation, anesthetists rely on comprehensive access on data that reflect the patient’s status and individual risk. Even if these data are in parts electronically available, they are mostly scattered among multiple IT structures that are not semantically connected. Previous research from an information systems viewpoint shows that when information exchange with other internal and external units is fostered, a standardization dilemma arises where local incentives make actors reluctant to adopt a globally-optimal solution. This DynAge-supported project combines these two streams of research (i.e. frailty and economics of information systems) in a novel way by asking: (1.) How can information technology support the compilation and processing of patient-/surgery related data for frailty-related risk identification and stratification, and (2.) with whom are and should frailty-related information be exchanged within the patient treatment process and what are the incentives and disincentives of these actors?

To explore these aspects, we focus on perioperative care provided by the CharitéCenter for Anesthesiology and Intensive Care Medicine. In a first step, we will conduct interviews with medical domain experts. Secondly, we will map the topological information on how frailty-associated patients are transferred between various hospital structures during their hospitalization. In a third step, we aim to determine the inertia costs that arise from the adaptations of local procedures, a switch or adaptation of existing IT systems, replacement of IT infrastructure). In a forth step, we want to determine integration benefits (e.g., time and cost savings, better information quality). Finally, we will visualize the collaboration network and perform first what-if analyses regarding incentive readjustments as well as present, discuss, and validate the preliminary scenarios with domain experts.

By focusing on frailty-related information exchanges and drawing on an economic computational modeling approach, the project directly addresses aging-related processes by mapping the topology of frailty-related information exchanges and by illustrating the incentive structures for different stakeholders within that process. This can firstly help to increase awareness of the importance of such data exchanges and secondly inform efforts to transform treatment processes such that they go beyond informational silos and take into account the potentials for frail patients arising from integrated information systems.

Project duration:

One year (07/2016 – 06/2017)

Contact persons:

Dr. Daniel Fürstenau

Prof. Dr. Martin Gersch

Project funding:

Focus Area “DynAge“ – Excellence Initiative II from Freie Universität Berlin and Charité University Medicine Berlin

Project partner:

PD Dr Felix Balzer (Charité Berlin)

Prof. Dr. Claudia Spies (Charité Berlin)

Prof. Dr. Ursula Müller-Werdan (Charité Berlin)

Competence Center E-Commerce
Entrepreneurial Network University (ENU)
016 DynAge_BildWort_RGB_RZ_WEB
CCEC-Online
ECDF
Department Information Systems

Anreizstrukturen für den Austausch frailty-bezogener Informationen in der perioperativen Medizin im Rahmen eines integrierten IT-Ansatzes

In Deutschland werden jährlich ca. 16 Millionen Operationen durchgeführt, die Hälfte davon bei Patienten über 65 Jahre. Diese Patienten sind besonders häufig von Gebrechlichkeit (engl. “frailty”) betroffen – einem klinischen Zustand erhöhten medizinischen Risikos aufgrund eines altersassoziierten Rückgangs der Reserven und Funktionen mehrerer physiologischer Systeme. “Gebrechlichkeit” wird zunehmend als Bereich erkannt, der sowohl aus Sicht des einzelnen Patienten als auch für die Gesellschaft als Ganzes verstärkte Aufmerksamkeit verlangt. Ältere Patienten, die sich einer Operation unterziehen, sind tendenziell einem höheren Risiko ausgesetzt frailty-bezogene Komplikationen zu erleiden (z.B. kognitive Schäden augrund eines postoperativen Diliriums). Jedoch sind frailty-bezogene Daten bisher nicht vollständig in den perioparitiven Behandlungsprozess im klinischen Bereich integriert.

Für ärztliche Entscheidungen im Rahmen von Patientennarkosen sowie für ein adäquates Monitoring benötigen Intensivmediziner ein möglichst umfängliches Bild vom Status des Patienten und dessen individuellen Risiken. Selbst wenn diese Daten heute bereits (teilweise) in elektronischer Form vorliegen, sind diese doch zumeist verstreut über verschiedene IT-Systeme, die auf semantischer Ebene nicht integriert sind. Aus Sicht der Wirtschaftsinformatik lässt sich dieses Problem als “Stan­dar­di­sierungsdilemma” beschreiben. Dieses tritt auf, wenn Informationsaustausch zwischen verschiedenen internen und externen Einheiten wünschenswert wäre, dieser aber nicht eintritt, weil lokale Anreize im Widerspruch zu globalen Effizienzkritierien stehen. Dieses im Rahmen der Focus Area “DynAge” unterstützte Projekt kombiniert die beiden genannten Forschungsströme (Frailty und Ökonomie von Informations­sys­temen) um folgende Forschungsfragen zu adressieren: (1.) Wie kann Informations­technologie die Erfassung und Verarbeitung von patienten-/operationsbezogenen Daten im Rahmen der Risikoidentifikation und –stratifikation unterstützen? (2.) Mit welchen Akteuren werden aktuell und sollten perspektivisch frailty-bezogene Daten während des Behandlungs­prozesses ausgetauscht werden und wie sind die Anreizstrukturen der Akteure um dies (nicht) zu tun?

Im Rahmen der Studie erfolgt dabei eine Schwerpunktsetzung auf den perioperativen, intensivpflegerischen Bereich des Charité-Centrums für Anästhesiologie und Intensivmedizin. In einem ersten Schritt werden Interviews mit medizinischen Fachkräften durchgeführt um ausgehend davon eine Analyse der Bewegung von Frailty-Patienten zwischen den verschiedenen Klinikbereichen vorzunehmen. Danach werden finanzielle Hürden (z.B. Anpassung lokaler Routinen, Umstellungs-/Anpassungskosten für bestehende IT-Systeme, Ersetzung von Hardware und Infrastruktur) untersucht, die Akteure potentiell davon abhalten an einem elektronischen Datenaustausch teilzunehmen. Außerdem werden potentielle Vorteile für einzelne Akteure untersucht (z.B. Kosten- und Zeiteinsparungen, bessere Informationsqualität). Abschließend sollen diese Daten dabei helfen basierend auf Anreizverschiebungen erste “Was-wäre-wenn”-Analysen durchzuführen. Die Ergebnisse werden abschließend mit Domänenexperten diskutiert.

Durch die Schwerpunktsetzung auf einen frailty-bezogenen Datenaustausch und durch Rückgriff auf eine ökonomische Modellierung werden im Projekt altersassoziierte Prozesse direkt addressiert. Dies erfolgt indem die Struktur der frailty-bezogenen Datenaustausche aufgezeigt und die Anreizstrukturen der einzelnen Akteure innerhalb des Behandlungsprozesses untersucht werden. Dies hilft erstens dabei die Aufmerk­sam­keit auf die Bedeutung solcher Datenflüsse zu lenken und zweitens bei der Gestaltung von Behandlungsprozessen zu unterstützen, die dann über Informationssilos in einzelnen Bereichen hinausgehen und die berücksichtigen, welche Potentiale integrierter Informationssysteme für Patienten mit Gebrechlichkeit bieten.

Projektlaufzeit:

Ein Jahr (07/2016 – 06/2017)

Ansprechpartner:

Dr. Daniel Fürstenau

Prof. Dr. Martin Gersch

Projektbudget:

Forschungsmittel (Focus Area „DynAge“ - Exzellenzinitiative II) von Seiten der FU Berlin sowie der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin

Projektpartner:

PD Dr Felix Balzer (Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin)

Prof. Dr. Claudia Spies (Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin)

Prof. Dr. Ursula Müller-Werdan (Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin)

Competence Center E-Commerce
Digital Entrepreneurship Hub
016 DynAge_BildWort_RGB_RZ_WEB
CCEC-Online
ECDF
Department Wirtschaftsinformatik