Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Guidelines for the assignment of Bachelor and Master theses

Bachelor and Master Theses


General Information

Our chair supervises theses in the following subject areas:

  1. Design of organizational structures and processes at the top management and board level
  2. Decision-making behavior, exercise of power and social influence of top managers and boards of directors 
  3. Effects of organization-theoretical aspects of corporate management on different groups of employees 
  4. Further questions from the fields of organization, organization theory and behavioral strategy, with reference to the top management level.

Within the scope of the subjects supervised by the chair, we supervise empirical, theoretical, as well as theory-based practical work. If you have appropriate cooperation partners, please inform us of your proposal in your application. You are also welcome to suggest your own topics. However, the chair will only assign a topic after a confirmation of supervision.

Theses can be written in German or English.


Information for Bachelor Theses


Prerequisites for the Application

In order to apply, participation in the finalist training in the economics library is mandatory (Finalistenschulung). Proof of participation must be provided by the time the thesis is registered.

For the winter semester the application deadline is October 15th.

For the summer semester, please submit your application by April 15.


Application Steps

If you are interested in a bachelor thesis at our professorship (first preference), please note the following points:

  1. While the university is under COVID-19 restrictions, please send your signed application form and relevant documents (in PDF form) to Mr. Ruidong Zhu (ruidong.zhu@fu-berlin.de), taking into account the registration deadlines mentioned above. During normal time, please hand in your application form and documents directly to the chair during opening hours.
  2. Please enclose a current grade overview using the transcript of records, which you can print out from Campus Management.
  3. You will be informed of your acceptance or rejection via e-mail by the end of October or the end of April. If you are accepted, you will be informed by your supervisor, who will arrange an initial meeting with you.
  4. During the first meeting with your supervisor, you will discuss your assignment and receive introductory literature references. You will also fill in the official form for registering your thesis together and clarify any open organizational questions. By the next individually arranged meeting, you are expected to present an outline of the structure of your thesis in the form of an Exposé (see information below) and develop search terms for a targeted and systematic literature search for discussion with your supervisor.
  5. The completion time of a Bachelor thesis is twelve weeks (according to the new study regulations of 2017) or ten weeks (according to the old study regulations of 2012). You must hand in you thesis before the end of the semester in which you register for it.


Exposé

1. German or English language

2. Max. 2 pages in A4 format for the main part (Timetable and references should be provided on additional pages)

3. The main part must include:

a. The proposed title of your bachelor thesis

b. A short abstract summarizing your work (ca. 200-300 words), including a clear statement of your research question and how you plan to investigate it

c. A preliminary outline of the structure of your thesis

4. Timetable for your thesis

5. References


Colloqium

We offer all candidates a colloquium for feedback from our chair. Our contact persons will inform you about the specific date.

For the colloquium, you should prepare an approx. 20-minute PowerPoint presentation in which you introduce your work, the current status, and then explain problems that are currently on your mind. After your presentation we will discuss it together. We will allow up to 45 minutes for each candidate.

The colloquium will not be graded and will therefore not be included in the grade of your thesis. In addition, it does not matter how far along you are with your thesis at the time of colloquium. However, your participation in the colloquium is mandatory


Submission

Please submit your thesis in duplicate form to the examination office by the appropriate deadline. Please also enclose a CD-ROM or USB stick containing your thesis in digital format. When submitting your thesis, please adhere to all current information of the examination office.

In case of illness, please inform the examination office and your responsible supervisor. In any case, you will need a medical certificate.


Contact Persons

If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us:

Dr. Silja Hartmann (contact person for the master thesis): silja.hartmann@fu-berlin.de

Ruidong Zhu (contact person for the bachelor thesis): ruidong.zhu@fu-berlin.de


Available Theses Topics

For potential topics please contact us!

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Richtlinien für die Vergabe von Bachelor- und Masterarbeiten

Bachelor- und Masterarbeit


Allgemeine Information:

Die Professur betreut Abschlussarbeiten aus den Themenbereichen:

  1. Gestaltung organisationaler Strukturen und Prozesse in der Unternehmensführungsebene
  2. Entscheidungsverhalten, Machtausübung und soziale Einflussnahme innerhalb und zwischen den Organen der Unternehmensführung
  3. Auswirkungen organisationstheoretischer Aspekte der Unternehmensführung auf verschiedene Mitarbeitergruppen
  4. Weitere Fragestellungen aus den Bereichen Organisation, Organisationstheorie und Behavioral Strategy, mit Bezug zur Unternehmensführungsebene

Im Rahmen der von der Professur angebotenen Themenbereiche betreuen wir empirische, theoretische sowie theoriegeleitete Praxisarbeiten. Sofern Sie über entsprechende Kooperationspartner verfügen, teilen Sie uns Ihren Vorschlag bitte ebenfalls in Ihrer Bewerbung mit. Eine Themenvergabe durch den Lehrstuhl findet jedoch erst nach erfolgter Betreuungszusage statt.

Abschlussarbeiten können Sie in deutscher oder englischer Sprache erstellen.


Informationen zur Bachelorarbeit:


Bewerbung

Für eine erfolgreiche Anmeldung ist die Teilnahme an einer Finalistenschulung in der wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Bibliothek verpflichtend. Ein Nachweis über die erfolgte Teilnahme ist bis zur Anmeldung der Arbeit zu erbringen.

Für das Wintersemester ist die Bewerbungsfrist der 15. Oktober
Für das Sommersemester reichen Sie Ihre Bewerbung bitte bis zum 15. April bei uns ein.


Weitere Schritte

Sollten Sie an einer Bachelorarbeit an unserem Lehrstuhl interessiert sein (erste Präferenz), beachten Sie bitte folgende Punkte:

  1. Solange wir unter Corona-Restriktionen agieren, reichen Sie bitte das unterschriebene Anmeldeformular und weitere relevante Unterlagen unter Berücksichtigung der oben genannten Fristen per Mail bei Herrn Ruidong Zhu (ruidong.zhu@fu-berlin.de) ein. Unter normalen Umständen reichen Sie Ihr Anmeldeformular unter Berücksichtigung der oben angegeben Anmeldefristen direkt im Sekretariat der Professur zu den entsprechenden Öffnungszeiten ein.
  2. Legen Sie dem Formular bitte auch eine aktuelle Noten- bzw. Leistungsübersicht bei, die Sie bitte aus Campus Management selbst ausdrucken können.
  3. Sie werden bis Ende Oktober bzw. Ende April über eine Zusage bzw. Absage schriftlich via E-Mail informiert. Im Falle einer Zusage wird Ihnen Ihr/e Betreuer/in mitgeteilt, der/die mit Ihnen einen ersten Gesprächstermin vereinbart.
  4. Im ersten Gespräch mit Ihrem/r Betreuer/in besprechen Sie Ihre Aufgabenstellung und bekommen einführende Literaturhinweise an die Hand. Sie füllen außerdem gemeinsam das offizielle Formular zur Anmeldung der Arbeit beim Prüfungsbüro aus und können sämtliche organisatorische Fragen klären. Bis zum nächsten individuell vereinbarten Termin erwarten wir von Ihnen eine erste Skizzierung der Gliederung Ihrer Arbeit in Form eines Exposés (s. unten) sowie von Ihnen erarbeitete Suchwörter für eine gezielte und systematische Literaturrecherche zur Besprechung mit Ihrem/r Betreuer/in.
  5. Die Bearbeitungszeit einer Bachelorarbeit beträgt zwölf Wochen (nach der neuen Studienordnung von 2017) oder zehn Wochen (nach der alten Studienordnung von 2012). Sie müssen Ihre Arbeit vor dem Ende des Semesters, indem Sie angemeldet wurde, einreichen.


Exposé

1. Deutsche oder englische Sprache

2. Max. 2 Seiten im Format DIN A4 für den Hauptteil (Zeitplan und Literaturhinweise sind auf weiteren Seiten zu schreiben)

3. Der Hauptteil beinhaltet:

a. Den von Ihnen vorgeschlagenen Titel der Arbeit

b. Einen kurzen Abstract von 200 bis 300 Wörtern, der Ihre geplante Arbeit zusammenfasst, Ihre Forschungsfrage klar benennt und darstellt, wie Sie planen, diese zu bearbeiten

c. Einen ersten Entwurf der Gliederung Ihrer Arbeit

4. Zeitplan für Ihre Arbeit

5. Literaturverzeichnis


Kolloqium

Wir bieten allen Kandidaten ein Kolloquium als Gelegenheit für Feedback zu Ihrer Arbeit an. Unsere Ansprechpartner informieren Sie über den konkreten Termin.

Das Kolloquium wird nicht benotet und fließt daher nicht in die Note Ihrer Arbeit ein. Darüber hinaus spielt es für die Teilnahme und den Ablauf des Kolloquiums keine Rolle, in welchem Bearbeitungsstadium sich Ihre Arbeit befindet. Der Tag ist ein konzertiertes Hilfsangebot unsererseits, Ihnen mit allen aktuell anstehenden Problemen Ihrer Arbeit zu helfen. Ihre Teilnahme an der Veranstaltung ist nichtsdestotrotz verpflichtend.

Für das Kolloquium sollten Sie eine ca. 20-minütige PowerPoint Präsentation vorbereiten, in der Sie Ihre Arbeit vorstellen, den aktuellen Stand darlegen und dann Probleme erläutern, die Sie gerade beschäftigen und bei denen Sie gerne unsere Hilfe hätten. Im Anschluss an Ihre Präsentation werden wir gemeinsam diskutieren. Wir werden uns für jede Arbeit ca. 45 Minuten Zeit nehmen, die wir ganz ausnutzen können, aber nicht müssen


Abgabe

Zum fristgerechten Abgabetermin reichen Sie Ihre Abschlussarbeit bitte in zweifacher Ausfertigung im Prüfungsbüro ein. Legen Sie bitte auch eine CD-ROM oder einen USB-Stick bei, die Ihre Arbeit in digitaler Form enthält. Bitte beachten Sie zu den Abgabemodalitäten in jedem Fall die aktuellen Informationen des Prüfungsbüros.

Im Krankheitsfall informieren Sie bitte das Prüfungsbüro und Ihren zuständigen Betreuer. Sie benötigen auf jeden Fall ein amtsärztliches Attest.


Ansprechpartner*in

Bei weiteren Fragen, kontaktieren Sie uns bitte direkt:

Dr. Silja Hartmann (Kontaktperson für Masterarbeiten): silja.hartmann@fu-berlin.de

Ruidong Zhu (Kontaktperson für Bachelorarbeiten): ruidong.zhu@fu-berlin.de


Themenvorschläge

Bitte kontaktieren Sie uns zu potenziellen Themen!