Chair for Inter-firm Cooperation

Research and Teaching

Universities are characterized by the Humboldtian ideal of the unity of research and teaching. In this sense, a (teaching) chair at a univeristy is always also a ‘research chair’. The same applies to the Chair of Inter-firm Cooperation, which is a specific feature of the School of Business & Economics at the Freie Universität Berlin, with its unique – in the German-speaking countries – Department of Management. This uniqueness is due to the fact that at the Freie Universität Berlin not just one or two chairs in the field of management exist, but – besides the Chair for Inter-firm Cooperation – there are three other chairs in this field: the Chair for Organization and Leadership, the Chair for Human Resource Management, the Chair for Strategic Management. In addition, there are various junior professorships, e.g. for Corporate Strategy, as well as Organizational Theory.

The research at the Chair for Inter-firm Cooperation mainly covers the development and management of inter-firm networks, especially in the service sector and science-based fields. For more information, please visit our ‘Research’ pages. This research also provides the basis for the teaching program of the Chair within the Bachelor, Master and Doctoral degree programs at the School of Business & Economics. With regard to contents, the focus of academic teaching – following the research program – is likewise the field of inter-firm cooperation and networking. From a didactic-methodical perspective, rather conventional lectures and seminars as well as more participatory tutorials and case-study based courses are offered to the students. More information regarding the teaching program can be found under ‘Courses’.

Internationality

Crucial to the international orientation of research and teaching at the Chair for Inter-firm Cooperation from the beginning have been the international nature of the subject and the orientation of the chair holder. The development of management theory in general and the field of inter-firm cooperation in particular are decisively influenced by the developments in the Anglo-Saxon countries, especially in the United States. After having finished his degree in Business Administration at the Freie Universität Berlin, Prof. Jörg Sydow acquired a Master of Science (M.Sc) in Management Science / Operations Research at Imperial College of Science & Technology, London. Besides the participation in international conferences and congresses that is common practice for scholars at universities, Prof. Sydow was appointed to the advisory board of editors of international Journals like Academy of Management Journal (AMJ), Academy of Management Review (AMR), Organization Studies (OS), Organization Science (OSc) and the Scandinavian Journal of Management (SJM). Furthermore, he has acted as an external evaluator on doctoral committees at the University of Cambridge, the Universiteit Leiden, Tilburg Universiteit, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, and the University of Sussex (SPRU) as well as a visiting professor, for example, at Vienna University of Economics and Business, University of Arizona in Tucson, University of New South Wales in Sydney, and the University of Strathclyde in Glasgow. From 2005 to 2007 he was International Visiting Scholar of the Advanced Institute of Management Research (AIM) in London, an excellence initiative about management research of the British government. In recent years, Prof. Sydow was involved in the organization of thematic tracks of international conferences (including EGOS 1998 in Maastricht, EGOS 2004 in Copenhagen, EGOS 2007 in Vienna, EGOS 2010 in Lisbon, EGOS 2011 in Gothenburg, EGOS 2012 in Helsinki, EGOS 2013 in Montreal, EGOS 2014 in Rotterdam, and EGOS 2015 in Athens). In addition, he was responsible for the organization of small and large international conferences held at the Freie Universität (incl. IIRA 2003, EGOS 2005, EIASM 2006, International Path Conference 2008, 2011 and 2014). Through these international activities, long-term research collaborations have developed. These include collaborations with Profs. Steve Frenkel (University of New South Wales, Sydney), Chris Huxham (University of Strathclyde), Keith Provan (University of Arizona, Tucson), Udo Staber (University of Canterbury, New Zealand), Marius Meeus, Leon Oerlemans and Patrik Kenis (Tilburg University), Bob DeFillippi (Suffolk University, Boston), Rolf Lundin (Jönköping University) and Christian Bergren, Lars Lindkvist and Fredrik Tell (University of Linköping). A siginificant foundation for these diverse international activities is, however, working closely together with graduate students, postdoctoral students and professors here at the Freie Universität Berlin, which fills the concept of an international network university with life. 

Egos
Organized Creativity

Lehrstuhl für Unternehmenskooperation

Forschung und Lehre

Universitäten zeichnen sich durch das Humboldtsche Ideal einer Einheit von Forschung und Lehre aus. In diesem Sinne sind Lehrstühle an Universitäten auch immer „Forschungstühle“. Das gilt auch für den Lehrstuhl Unternehmenskooperation, der ein Spezifikum des Fachbereichs Wirtschaftswissenschaft der Freien Universität mit seinem in der deutschsprachigen Landschaft einmaligen Management-Department ist. Diese Einmaligkeit ist darin begründet, dass es an der Freien Universität nicht nur ein oder zwei Lehrstühle im Bereich Management gibt, sondern neben dem LS Unternehmenskooperation drei weitere: LS Organisation und Führung, LS Personalmanagement, LS Strategisches Management. Hinzu kommen noch Juniorprofessuren, u.a. für Corporate Strategy sowie für Projektmanagement. Zudem belegen Forscher und Forscherinnen des Departments in Veröffentlichungs- und Zitationsrankings die vordersten Plätze. Ein Beispiel: Basierend auf einer umfassenden Publikationsdatenbank der University of Texas wurden die fünf wichtigsten internationalen Fachzeitschriften (Administrative Science Quarterly, Academy of Management Review, Academy of Management Journal,  Strategic Management Journal und Organization Science) in einem Zeitraum von zwanzig Jahren (1994-2014) ausgewertet. Forscher und Forscherinnen des Management-Departments der Freien Universität Berlin belegen dabei den ersten, die Universität Mannheim den zweiten und die ESMT Berlin den dritten Platz. Es folgen die Technische sowie die Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, die WHU Vallendar sowie Universität zu Köln. Interessierte können unter folgendem Link, die Auswertung individuell nachstellen.

Die Forschung des LS Unternehmenskooperation erstreckt sich vor allem auf die Entwicklung und das Management von Unternehmensnetzwerken, vor allem im Dienstleistungs- und Hochtechnologiebereich. Mehr dazu finden Sie unter Forschung. Diese Forschung ist Basis der universitären Lehre des Lehrstuhls in betriebswirtschaftlichen Bachelor-, Master- und Promotionsstudiengängen des Fachbereichs. Der Fokus der akademischen Lehre liegt – der Forschung folgend – inhaltlich auf dem Feld der Unternehmenskooperation und  -vernetzung. Didaktisch-methodisch wird eine Mischung aus klassischen Vorlesungen und Seminaren sowie verhaltensorientierten Übungen und fallstudienbasierten Lehrveranstaltungen eingesetzt. Mehr dazu unter Lehre.

Internationalität

Ausschlaggebend für die von Anbeginn internationale Ausrichtung der Forschung und Lehre am LS Unternehmenskooperation sind die Internationalität des Faches und die Orientierung des Lehrstuhlinhabers. Die Entwicklung der Managementlehre im Allgemeinen und der Lehre von der Unternehmenskooperation im Besonderen sind entscheidend durch die Entwicklungen im angelsächsischen Raum, insbesondere natürlich in den USA, geprägt. Der Lehrstuhlinhaber, Prof. Dr. Jörg Sydow, hat im Anschluss an sein Studium der Betriebswirtschaftslehre an der Freien Universität Berlin am Imperial College of Science & Technology der University of London einen Master of Science (M.Sc.) in Management Science/Operations Research erworben. Der für an Universitäten arbeitende Wissenschaftler übliche Teilnahme an internationalen Tagungen und Workshops folgten die nicht ganz so selbstverständliche Berufung in Herausgeberbeiräte internationaler Zeitschriften wie Academy of Management Journal (AMJ), Academy of Management Review (AMR), Organization Studies (OS), Organization Science (OSc) und dem Scandinavian Journal of Management (SJM) und die Tätigkeit als auswärtiger Gutachter in Promotionsverfahren an der University of Cambridge, der Universiteit Leiden, der Universiteit Tilburg, der Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam und der University of Sussex (SPRU) sowie als Gastprofessor zum Beispiel an der Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien, der University of Arizona in Tucson, der University of New South Wales in Sydney und der University of Strathclyde in Glasgow. Von 2005 bis 2007 war Prof. Sydow zudem International Visiting Scholar des Advanced Institute of Management (AIM) Research in London, einer Exzellenzintiative der britischen Regierung zur Managementforschung. In den letzten Jahren war Prof. Sydow zudem an der Organisation thematischer Tracks im Rahmen internationaler Tagungen beteiligt (u.a. EGOS 1998 in Maastricht, EGOS 2004 in Kopenhagen, EGOS 2007 in Wien, EGOS 2010 in Lissabon, EGOS 2011 in Göteburg, EGOS 2012 in Helsinki, EGOS 2013 in Montreal, EGOS 2014 in Rotterdam und EGOS 2015 in Athen). Hinzu kommt die Organisation kleiner oder großer internationaler Tagungen (u.a. IIRA 2003, EGOS 2005, EIASM 2006, Pfadkonferenz 2008, 2011 und 2014) sowie internationaler Doktoranden-Workshops (z.B. GIRA Spring School 2013). Durch diese internationalen Aktivitäten haben sich längerfristige Forschungskooperationen u.a. mit den Profs. Steve Frenkel (University of New South Wales, Sydney), Chris Huxham (University of Strathclyde), Keith Provan (University of Arizona, Tucson), Udo Staber (University of Canterburry, Neuseeland), Bob DeFillippi (Suffolk University, Boston), Rolf Lundin (Universität Jönköping) und Lars Lindkvist (Universität Linköping) entwickelt. Eine zentrale Grundlage dieser vielfältigen internationalen Tätigkeiten allerdings ist eine enge Zusammenarbeit mit Doktoranden, Habilitanden und Professoren hier an der Freien Universität Berlin, die mit vergleichbaren Aktivitäten ebenfalls die Konzeption einer internationalen Netzwerkuniversität mit Leben füllen.

 

ENU_Siegel_RGB
Organized Creativity
Egos
BLIX